No announcement yet.

The Tarot part 4

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • The Tarot part 4

    The Minor Arcana
    Whereas the cards in the Major Arcana reflect the big issues in life, those in the Minor Arcana show humdrum, day-to-day events and how these affect you. These are the things that occupy most of our lives, and although they often seem insignificant, it is frequently our reaction to them that sets off major changes. Levi pointed out that the ten numerical cards of each suit corresponded to the ten Sephiroth (centres of divine energy) in the Kabbalah; the four suits corresponded to the four Elements, thus Coins (later called Pentacles) are Earth, Cups are Water, Sceptres (later called Wands) are Air, and Swords are Fire. Indeed it is because of this, on a more mundane level, that the four suits all have their own interpretations and correspondences:
    Pentacles Money, stability and material matters. Cups Love, happiness, harmony, sensitivity, fertility and unity. Wands Work, creativity, reputation, fame, enterprise and efficiency. Swords Ideas and communications, hostility, struggle, bitterness and malice. A Tarot reading that includes the Minor Arcana can reveal many things, including – perhaps most importantly – whether your life has become entrenched in a pattern, in which case the cards can help you change repetitive cycles and broaden your outlook. The Minor Arcana reflect not just life’s experiences but also the manner in which you externalize them. Each of the cards in the pack has its own meanings – one for when it is drawn properly and one when it is reversed. A reversed Minor Arcana card turns its upright meaning negative, though many readers consider that it also represents the potential for its upright meaning. The suits, too, have their own correspondences, which are significant, when many cards of the same suit turn up in a spread. Broadly, the numbered cards from one to ten all have specific meanings, their final interpretation tempered by the suit to which they belong. These basic meanings are shown below. Aces are the seeds or beginning of things. They represent unity and the creative principle. Twos represent duality, opposites but also partnership. There is often ambivalence inherent in this number. It is a manifestation of an essential diversity or polarity. Threes signify birth, life and death, the Holy Trinity and any aspect where things become visible or manifest. The triangle is often used in magical workings to signify a spiritual presence in the physical world. Fours are solid, tangible and stable structures, uniting physical and spiritual principles in one coherent whole. The number four unites the four Elements and calls for obedience. Fives indicate power, domination and victory, and sometimes a tension between useful and constructive enterprises and wanton acts of destruction. They are always active and forceful. Sixes signify hesitation, difficulties that can be smoothed over and oppositions which can be moulded for good. However, they can also suggest changes for the worse and an internal revolt. Sevens are the organization of universal energy, the perfect dynamic and magical manifestation. There may be conflict but change is usually for the better. This is the Holy or cosmic number, which initiates vast transformation. Eights can suggest suffering and the working through of one’s destiny. Also, they are the union of the physical and spiritual realms and therefore the number of transcendence. Inevitably there is fear attached to this process, but that can be overcome. Nines are the number of initiation, of endings and beginnings. Signifying passivity, they suggest acceptance, not of the status quo but of that which must happen. They forecast the
    return to Unity. Tens reassure us that nothing is permanent, but that there is always hope and positive change. A continual process of regeneration takes place and there is promise of a new phase of existence. To demonstrate how to make sense of a card in a spread, here are a few examples:
    • The seven of Pentacles might be read as a change for the better in material circumstances, the best use of material resources.
    • The four of Wands suggests a new stability in an enterprise connected with work or in one’s home environment. There is no stasis, but there is potential movement.
    • The six of Cups indicates that there is some hesitation and difficulty on the emotional front which can eventually be overcome. The more accomplished one becomes, the easier it is to read the numbered cards. Their meanings often become clearer in the light of the cards of the Major Arcana or when the court cards are introduced.

    The court cards
    There are 16 court cards in the Tarot pack, each suit having a King, a Queen, a knight and a page, or sometimes a page and a princess. Often seen as people in the enquirer’s environment, they can also be read as qualities required within a situation. Kings are mature males, authority figures who embody power and paternalism, achievement and responsibility. If a King appears in a spread and is not recognized, he can sometimes represent the enquirer’s own more assertive, driven side. Reversed, Kings can be seen as inflexible and perhaps a domineering aspect.
    Queens are generally maternal figures and, like the Kings, figures of authority with inherent fertility and wisdom. When a Queen is unrecognized, she can stand for the enquirer’s own intuitive nurturing side in relationships, motives and intentions. Reversed she shows a tendency to be possessive about the qualities of her suit, and sometimes destructive. Knights are young people who are on the verge but who have not achieved full maturity. Their qualities are usually somewhat untutored, and may represent an uncharacteristic quality that is slowly developing in the enquirer. Immaturity and an inherent selfishness are indicated by a reversed knight. Pages or princesses refer to children or young teenagers of either sex, the child within and undeveloped potential. They can also suggest spontaneity, according to the suit. Reversed, they indicate a childish attitude. When using the court cards for divination, you take the meaning of the card and the meaning of the suit and combine the two. Thus, the King of Pentacles might represent a banker, while the Knight of Cups might represent an idealistic seeker of truth.
    The Tarot is a complex system of divination, its meanings subtle but deep. On a superficial level it is just another form of ‘fortune-telling’, but the cards have a deeper significance, offering insights into the forces that are at work in both your life and within the innermost self. The Major Arcana, when laid out like a clock-face, depicts man’s spiritual journey and how he learns about himself. When the Minor Arcana is then shuffled and laid out beneath these cards you can gain a fairly clear idea of the problems and difficulties there are with each of these phases of existence. In this book, which is, after all, about spell making, this brief description of the Tarot is intended to give you a sense of how to use divination in its purest form – that is, approaching the divine. The way of working with Tarot described below will allow you to do just this.

  • #2
    My god, Lapped, this was so good. Thanks for sharing!


    • #3
      This was really long, not gonna lie. But I ready it all and it was so interesting! Thanks a lot for sharing!


      • #4
        Woah, you really put a lot of effort on this, uh? Thanks for sharing, dude!


        • #5
          It must have taking a lot of time to make this. I admit it though, I'm not gonna ready because I'm not into astrology, but I appreciate your effort


          • #6
            Duuuuude, I read everything but I'm only commenting here. You really put A LOT of effort in this, so thanks a lot for sharing, it was very interesting